• Welcome To ShotTalk.com!

We are one of the oldest and largest Golf forums on the internet with golfers from around the world sharing tips, photos and planning golf outings.

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

What comes first?

MattyB

Not a sheep shagger.
Supporting Member
Dec 30, 2012
Country
New Zealand New Zealand
Hey guys, newbie here to the forums, but from what i can see its a lively and very informative site.

What im basically wanting to know is what part of equipment will be most beneficial to purchase to get the jump on my game and lower my handicap?
I was an avid golfer during school til about 16-17yrs old, and at the time got down to about a 16 handicap. Since then i ventured to other sports and golf was on the backburner.
Now im getting keen to take it back up and do it more seriously and put some actual money/time/effort into it.
I currently just use a stock standard set of Wilson clubs bought a few years back now but have come to realise i need to splash out and upgrade but just dont know where to start.
Bit of info - My putting and short game seems ok to me. Usually hit most greens in reg or just miss (recovery is a specialty it seems). This obviously means my driving accuracy is somewhat a mystery haha. I probably hit the fairway about 30% off tee shots. It's most likely my technique/grip which ive researched and am beginning to work on as a slice is my biggest headache.
Will a decent driver assist with the fixing of this? I mentally think buying a driver is my first priority just because of this.

Cheers for any responses.

Matt

BigJim13

Staff member
Aug 13, 2006
Wedges and putter. Get a decent wedge or 2 and learn every shot you can with them, them move over to the putting green until 3-6 footers are automatic. Best way I know to drop your score 5-10 shots a round.

eclark53520

DB Member Extraordinaire
Supporting Member
Dec 24, 2007
South Central Wisconsin
Country
United States United States