• Welcome To ShotTalk.com!

We are one of the oldest and largest Golf forums on the internet with golfers from around the world sharing tips, photos and planning golf outings.

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

What else do you use your 56* wedge for?

Johnny Par

Supporting Member
Sep 5, 2006
hello members,

I just started playing golf and been out on a 18 hole course 3 times now.
I am having alot of trouble with short pitches and chips to the green.

At first, I used my Cleveland CG 10 56* standard bounce wedge but found that the ball goes way too high and end up having to chip again to get on the green.

With my Mizuno MX 23 pitching wedge, I am still having trouble making good contact with a 3/4 swing.

I guess my question is, will a gap wedge help?
or do I just need to learn how to hit different shots with my current wedges?

Davebud

Crackhead Zebra
Oct 31, 2005
My answer is both, I love my GW, absolutely my favorite club. Practicing lots of different shots with your wedges can do nothing but help your game though, so I can honestly say both.:)

OP
Johnny Par

Johnny Par

Supporting Member
Sep 5, 2006
Yeah, guess I'll just have to hit the range some more and practice different shots.

Also, is 52* a gap wedge? or is it 54? or can both be used?

I have noticed though, the range is soooooooooooooooo different from the actual fariway / rough at a golf course. So hard to adjust too.

Hitting the ball on a somewhat flat mat at the range produced great results.

Actually hitting it from deep rough / sand produced atrocious results for me.

Slingblade61

Supporting Member
Aug 26, 2004
I have a 60* lob wedge I love!

It gets those wet leaves out of my gutters like nobody's business!! The way it works around pesky those gutter spikes is nothing short of amazing! :D

So I definitely recommend a lob wedge. ;)

ezra76

Feb 5, 2006