• Welcome To ShotTalk.com!

We are one of the oldest and largest Golf forums on the internet with golfers from around the world sharing tips, photos and planning golf outings.

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

When should I get a membership?

MrT

Jul 23, 2008
Question. I just started breaking 100 this summer consistently, shooting 96's throughout August and practicing everyday since I am a teacher and have summers off. I haven't play since the school year started, but try to get out to the range and practice greens as much as I can.

My question is when is a good time to get a membership to a course and start getting your handicap started? I am not even sure how the handicap thing works as I am only really into my third year of serious golf.

Your thoughts please!

SilverUberXeno

El Tigre Blanco
Jul 26, 2005
If you can get a membership reasonably, and like the course enough to play it almost exclusively, there's no better way to do it. ESPECIALLY if you live close by. Memberships encourage you and enable you to play a LOT of golf.

If you only play once a week, it's more cost effective, and more fun, to play many different courses.

Memberships have only to do with how much you're going to play, really.

MIKE1218

Top Bloke
Dec 21, 2006
like SUX said, if you have a course you love to play, a membership will allow you to save quite a bit if you play a lot. i only had to play ~60 rounds to break even, and I played the equivalent of far more than that. i say equivalent because of the best part of being a member: you can jump out and play 3 holes, or skip around and paly your favorites, etc. a lot of my golf last year was 5 or 6 holes at a time playing 2 or 3 balls.

Esox

Supporting Member
Aug 6, 2008