• Welcome To ShotTalk.com!

We are one of the oldest and largest Golf forums on the internet with golfers from around the world sharing tips, photos and planning golf outings.

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

Why are long irons so hard to hit well?

SiberianDVM

I love Hooters
Jul 25, 2005
Augusta, GA
Country
United States United States
My new clubs are great. I'm hitting longer and straighter than ever. Except for the friggin 3 & 4 iron. I'm hitting low, screaming hooks with them.

I know it's my swing. Probably my hands are getting ahead and closing the clubface. How the heck do I fix that? Why is it just these 2 clubs?

Or should I just say screw it and buy a 3 & 4 hybrid?

Jun 24, 2006
I'm no pro but try this:

1) Keep your upper body over the ball don’t move backwards away from the target (sway)
2) Try to take a SHORTER SLOWER backswing
3) Move the ball a little further back in your stance
4) Hit down like 7I
5) Follow through towards the target with a high finish (swing down the target line)
6) On the takeaway, take the club straight back from the ball.

I was hitting my long irons poorly the other day so I went to the range. 30 minutes later I was hitting them well them. ^^those are some things I focused on. Might do you some good but..maybe not.

Good luck

P.S- Don’t buy a hybird

-ThatCanadianGuy

ezra76

Feb 5, 2006
Dude, those things are blades, right? There are only a few guys not named Tiger who can hit those things consistantly in a long iron. Take a look at the "What's in my bag" in Golf Digest. Just about any long iron blade you'll see has so much lead tape on it you can't even tell the manufacturer. I'd say get some kind of a hybrid for the 3 and 4iron. The only way I'd try to hit them was if there were a par 3 that was dead on one of their yardages.

OP
SiberianDVM

SiberianDVM

I love Hooters
Jul 25, 2005
Augusta, GA
Country