• Welcome To ShotTalk.com!

We are one of the oldest and largest Golf forums on the internet with golfers from around the world sharing tips, photos and planning golf outings.

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

Why chip-ins are like London buses...

Sandy

Aug 29, 2006
You wait 23 months for one, and then two come along straight after each other! :laugh:

So, I've been playing for just under 2 years now, and though I'm very happy with the way my game has improved I realized a couple of months ago that I've NEVER had a chip-in from off the green. I've had several putts from off the green, but never chipped one straight in the hole.

So today, after a couple of weeks off the course, I went out for a round at my local course. Somehow my came really came together on a couple of holes and from nowhere I chipped one in for a birdie on the 2nd! Already ecstatic from this, I repeated it with another birdie on the 14th!

Birdie #1: A 176yd par 3 with 4 bunkers guarding the green and the flag towards the front left of the green. Left my 22* hybrid about 5 yards off the front of the green on the fairway with the ground too wet to putt it. Took my new Callaway X-Tour 60/11MD, put a great stroke on it and it hopped in on the third bounce!

Birdie #2: Very tight tree-lined hole to a well guarded green. 19* hybrid off the tee, 8i that I hit fat and landed up a good 30yds off the green. Took my trusty spin-milled Vokey 56/10 and stepped up. Again made a great little pitching stroke, landed it right on the front of the green and watched it break along the surface and drop right in the hole after about 10yds of roll!