• Welcome To ShotTalk.com!

We are one of the oldest and largest Golf forums on the internet with golfers from around the world sharing tips, photos and planning golf outings.

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

Any suggestions using an air compressor to put on grips?

Augster

Rules Nerd
Supporting Member
Reaction score
I read about this process yesterday and about how easy it is. I got 2 grips on, but the second one took like 15 minutes. Granted, I'm just learning this process, but I could have done the thing with solvent in a LOT less time.

In the articles I've read online, they say some can do a set of clubs in 5 minutes, plus the clubs are ready to go right then. Sounds good to me.

To put them on, I know you have to put at least masking tape down on the shaft. Then I get the first inch or so wet and put that over the butt end of the shaft. Then I insert air through the hole in the back.

Here is where the trouble starts.

It is absolutely F'in loud the squealing of the air escaping through the small end of the grip. LOUD.

Is there a special way to hold the grip to get it on quickly or something?

Any tricks are appreciated.

Thanks.

Sorry for not doing my own research, but since you read about it I'll ask. Outside of being able to use the club that day, is there any other plus side to this? I guess I could see that you maybe wouldn't have to be as careful with Graphite shafts? Or can you rotate the grips to extend the life, but I would think they would feel funky if it even extended the life? Or is it just the quicker time and money for tape and solvent.

Sorry for the questions, but as you said, it seemed like more trouble then it's worth unless there is a plus side. I would be worried that doing this repeatedly would eventually damage the epoxy in the club head, or destroy the graphite in my Driver.