• Welcome To ShotTalk.com!

We are one of the oldest and largest Golf forums on the internet with golfers from around the world sharing tips, photos and planning golf outings.

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

Can't Hit my Driver

mikeyworm

Reaction score
I just started playing golf again after a 5 year hiatus. I am 25 and played a lot in high school. A lot of my game has come through the break and I have shot between 80-86 in each of the 10 or so rounds I played this summer at a 6800 yard 114 slope course in Los Angeles.

However, I am simply unable to hit my driver. I usually hit my 3-wood off the tee and even with that I am very inconsistent. When I really connect with the 3 wood I can hit it ~250 but every time I pick up the driver I ground it or hit it extremley low, with a large slice.

I was talking with a friend who is much better than me and he told me that I don't hit the driver well because I am hitting down on the ball too much. I do hit my long irons very high so I know that I have a very steep downswing. No matter how many times I try to be cognizant of hitting through the ball on my drives, I am unable to connect. I am using pretty old Mizunos that I got in high school but even when I take a rip with my friend's newer drivers, nothing changes.

One thing I have noticed is that I really seem to hit it better with a smaller club head. My 3-wood is very small by today's standards and I really enjoy that. I have a lot of trouble with these 460cc monsters that I see everyone carrying.

I really want to take the next step and I need to improve my distance off the tee so that I can reach the longer par 4s in two. I only hit my 3-iron 210 so if I hit a mediocre "drive" with my 3 wood I can't reach the 420+ par 4s in two which is very frustrating.

Sorry this is so long. Any advice is appreciated.

Thanks.

Swing easy, don't try and kill it, thats probably why you struggle to hit a big headed modern driver.