• Welcome To ShotTalk.com!

We are one of the oldest and largest Golf forums on the internet with golfers from around the world sharing tips, photos and planning golf outings.

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

Looking into a new driver/3 wood.

ruining

inappropriate
Reaction score
I'm new to golf equipment. I origianlly had the driver that came with the crappy Wilson Wal-Mart set. I've since upgraded my irons to Wilson Deep Red fat shafts/stiff. I then bought a King Cobra driver for around $80 that gave me tons of distance but had a reg flex shaft, so little control with my faster swing. Instead of buying a stiff shaft for it, I bought a Wilson Deep Red Tour with 9.0 loft with stiff shaft. My longest drive with it was 367 yards, but I caught a good bounce off a forward-facing bump. My average is about 290-320 with this driver and I'm starting to wonder where I would be if I had kept the Cobra.

My question is, now that I've learned to get good distance, I'm wanting a new driver/3 wood combo. Is there anything that is 1-2 years old that is better for me that I don't have to pay an arm and a leg for? I know very little about equipment. I've been bitten by the long-drive bug, but I'm struggling with my accurace, (nothing new) and I'm thinking about starting with a 3 wood and then getting the driver a little later. (2-3 months down the road.)

Thanks.

Couple things.

A)Deep Red is(or was) Wilson's premier wood, and a nice one at that. I absolutely loved the club, but they never sold it at any dealer here in New Mexico, only time I tried was in Denver a couple months after I bought a TM360. So if you like it, keep it, they are nice clubs.

B)If you really want to upgrade, Golfsmith has a Taylormade R480XD, Nike Ignite, TM R5(Dual D or N), Clevelend Launcher, and a couple others all at some pretty decent prices for a new club.