• Welcome To ShotTalk.com!

We are one of the oldest and largest Golf forums on the internet with golfers from around the world sharing tips, photos and planning golf outings.

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

My 300 yard swing, sometimes more.

Guy's are getting too worked up out this stuff. When I started playing I thought I was pretty long. Then as I started moving away from the $18 muni's and onto some decent courses I ran into some "golfers". If you are "long" you should not have anywhere near 3woods into 500yd. holes. I played with a guy around your size who was a 2 handicap. He drove the green on a 327yd. hole on the fly but took it over the trees so it was more like 290 on the fly. He also hit a 7iron into a 512yd. par 5 and made the 12footer for eagle. 1st eagle I've ever seen made on a par 5. That guy can legitimately say he's long. :laugh: He did this with a 9.5* R7425 and a stock stiff shaft in it. I'd hate to see what he would do with a lower lofted, lower spinning head and an Xflex fitted to him. I don't believe I've ever seen a shaft bend so much.

So keep working on it Burlguy and consider a few lessons. Not that I mean anythig negative by that but getting a more fundamentally sound swing will not only give you more distance but more consistancy as well. Good luck.