• Welcome To ShotTalk.com!

We are one of the oldest and largest Golf forums on the internet with golfers from around the world sharing tips, photos and planning golf outings.

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

Peaking at all the wrong times.

SilverUberXeno

El Tigre Blanco
Reaction score
This year has been a trying experience for me and my golf game.

When the season started in New York this year, I was already playing near my best after the first couple rounds. I'd finish the front nine four or five over hitting the ball decently and putting well enough. As the summer came in I started practicing a LOT, and it showed. I'd go out and make 3 birdies in 6 holes, hammer drives, stick wedges silly close, and hit my irons like it was as simple as tic-tac-toe.

Then, like the tide, is all disappeared. I moved to North Carolina in October for plenty of reasons, one of which being that I could keep playing golf and didn't need to own a snow shovel. Like clockwork, from the moment I set foot in ol' NC, it was like swinging at a firefly with a broomstick. I lost it all. I SERIOUSLY considered quitting the game. Now, I've "quit" golf approximately $5,000 times. But I genuinely lost interest in the game. I started to feel that, even if I could go shoot a 75, who cares? What a stupid game, a pointless game, a waste of money and life.

But I'd already invested so much in this stupid, pointless waste of money and life. I have a LOT of gloves (you wouldn't believe me if I told you) and 7 pairs of shoes. I said to myself, "I'm gonna burn through this crap, and then quit. But I'm done buying clubs. It's not the clubs' fault."