• Welcome To ShotTalk.com!

We are one of the oldest and largest Golf forums on the internet with golfers from around the world sharing tips, photos and planning golf outings.

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

Settling down

Lemonhead

Reaction score
Went to play a different course yesterday rather than another walk around the Muni. Front 9 was a bloodbath. By the back 9 I finally settled down and started playing much, much better - not my handicap, but close. The experience made me realize how much my score is affected by my attitude.

I've been having problems with my driver and my game in general is not where it had been, so on the front nine, I was tense about playing well. Needless to say, I got exactly what I was worried about. By the back nine, I had resigned that the Driver wasn't going to get work right that day. I started playing it to minimize the risk and then worked on making good approach shots. My score still suffered because I was further away than I would have liked, however, it dramatically improved over the front 9.

Overall, the round blew chunks, but dissected, there were highlights. Usually, when I start bad, it just gets worse. This time, it started bad and I managed to turn it around. It was really windy and I tried a few draws and cuts that worked out well. Only 1 shaped shot went bad (way too much draw for the situation). Cut a 3 iron around the trees on a 45deg blind dogleg and ended up 5 yds from the front of the green. I chipped very well. Putted so-so (Missed almost everything from 10ft+, but had 3 really close from 30ft).

So, I still have work to do to get my Driver back and then I feel that I can start getting my handicap going down like it had been going.

Lemonhead

There's a good reason why Ernie Els & Retief Goosen play well and look so relaxed.