• Welcome To ShotTalk.com!

We are one of the oldest and largest Golf forums on the internet with golfers from around the world sharing tips, photos and planning golf outings.

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

Consistency

vuhnan

Reaction score
I am relatively new to golf (this is really my second full season), and I am becoming very frustrated at my results. My handicap is probably somewhere around 15 (although that might be a bit generous), but I still make absolutely horrible shots. I must lose 10 strokes every round to just awful shots. I do not have a consistent hook or slice, but sometimes I do both. The last few days, for example, the ball was going right; however, earlier in the year, they were going left. Because my problem isnt the same, it is very hard for me to pinpoint exactly what is going awry.

My swing speed is about 125 MPH and a good drive can travel 325 yards. From 150, I generally play a PW. Distance has never been my problem, but control certainly has. I play stiff shafted woods and regular irons. The woods were purchased last year, and the irons were purchased two years ago. I bought regular because I didnt know a whole lot about golf at the time, and I assumed that meant they were pretty standard.

I would like to think that much of my problem is that I am playing clubs with too much flex, but I know that is only partly true. Without having ever seen me swing a club, this is a very difficult question, but I would like to know if there are any measures one can take to swing a more consistent swing? I have heard that ball position can play a huge role in ball flight, and I have recently been told that it should always be on the inside of my left foot (I am a righty). Perhaps my problem is partly mental, as well; are there any pre-shot/practice routines that anyone would recommend to hit the ball straighter consistently?