• Welcome To ShotTalk.com!

We are one of the oldest and largest Golf forums on the internet with golfers from around the world sharing tips, photos and planning golf outings.

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

Hi from the newest 'New Guy'

TomClark

San Jose, CA
Reaction score
Greetings all, and I hope all of you are ready for an excellent holiday season. I have been playing golf for about 13 years now. For a long time I couldn't see the value of taking a perfectly good ball and trying to lose it! But, since every male I know plays, I finally took up the game in the mid 90's.

I am 53, and a retired police captain (2 years now) from the south Bay Area. My wife still works full time, so I have lots of time to devote to hobbies. I try to play at least once a week, and in November realized one of my retirement goals: getting my index under 10. It currently is 8.7, and I am finding that I enjoy the game more and more as time continues on. I have a regular group I play with, plus will go out to one of several local courses as a single without problem.

For whatever reason, I have gravitated to Titleist clubs....I really enjoy how they play, and I have found them quite durable. Lucked into a great deal this summer, and picked up a 907D2 and a 906F4 for $200. They were nearly new, and the guy I bought them from was so frustrated that he all but gave them away. Like the driver so much (10.5 with a Diamana shaft) that I recently bought a 9.5 and had a Speeder 569 (x flex) installed. Swing speed is over 110, and I am now really bombing the ball. Get the short game a little tighter, and I can drop the index some more.

Anyway, I look forward to garnering lots of good information from this site, and to hopefully making some new golf aquaintances in the San Jose area.

Tom

Welcome to Shottalk! I'd love to be in your shoes by the time I'm 53! Retired and play golf all the time!

Welcome aboard. :)