• Welcome To ShotTalk.com!

We are one of the oldest and largest Golf forums on the internet with golfers from around the world sharing tips, photos and planning golf outings.

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

Need some opinions on these...

Kenny

Reaction score
Hi all, basically to give you a rough overview of myself, I'm a beginner golfer who's looking to build a complete golf set and learn the game. (my budget is less than $200 if possible)

I'm also looking for over-sized and forgiving game improvement clubs.

I've browsed through many of the threads on this forum and you guys seem to be a very friendly bunch. (with the exception of the clones vs name brands thread :) ). Thanks to some of your advices, I roughly have an idea of what to look out for.

Could you all give me some advice on the following?

1) What drivers and fairway woods would you recommend? Are the modern hybrids really good?

2) Found this on ebay. What do you think of it? It looks like a pretty good deal. Would it be suitable for a beginner?

http://cgi.ebay.com/NEW-RAM-BY-TOMMY-ARMOUR-G-FORCE-COMPLETE-GOLF-SET-W-BAG_W0QQitemZ7194848163QQcategoryZ115280QQcmdZViewItem

Thanks!

(my budget is less than $200 if possible)

Good luck with that. For $200, you're not going to get much in the way of good clubs. Remember, a good driver will set you back $200 easy. I think if you do some research on this site, you will find that most of the guys here don't recommend any of the "beginner sets of clubs". You don't get much and you will most likely be looking for a better set of clubs within 6 months or so. Hard to get a decent set of irons for $200, let alone a full set of clubs for that price.

Hmm... I was under the impression that $200 should be fine for a beginner's set. I won't mind 2nd hand too. I reckoned a 2nd hand TA854 irons set would set me back less than $100?

By the way, are those TA G-force irons in the auction above of any good?