• Welcome To ShotTalk.com!

We are one of the oldest and largest Golf forums on the internet with golfers from around the world sharing tips, photos and planning golf outings.

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

Titleist Spin Milled Oil Can v. Cleveland RTG

IrishGolfer

Fac ut gaudeam
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Testing the Titleist Spin Milled Oil Can 60 degree 4 degree bounce v. Cleveland RTG 60 degree 3 degree bounce

History is that I got a 54 and 58 degree Spin Milled a few months ago. I love the 54 degree but I felt a little uneasy with the 58 and I switched back to my trusty rusty RTG in 60 degrees and 3 degrees bounce. I just acquired a 60 degree SM in 4 degrees bounce so I decided to run them in a "shoot out".

Firstly they are both very nice wedges, but I feel that they play very differently off turf. Funny they seem to play as well from sand both from flat, downhill and uphill lies. SM has a bit more bounce and probably is easier to get out of sand.

SM has a very wide sole, and I can't play cut ups or lobs with it, but I can play skippers and stop it real quick, and I seem to get great spin from the rough.

RTG has a much slimmer sole and I can cut that up no end at all. I find it hard to play a skipper with it, it doesn't spin as well but it feels so much more controllable in my hands.

Conclusion: I will test the SM a few more times but ultimately I will probably hang with the RTG. May look for a newer model with sharper grooves or perhaps I will try and get the SM ground to take a bit off that wide sole, dunno...

thanks for the review..as im looking for a new wedge also

I feel the same way about my 60 RTG. It's there when I need it.

I am intrigued tho by the 54 vokey... since I've seen you play, I think we have a similar traj, maybe I hit it a bit higher than you.

Can you go into detail on the 54 SM vs what you were playing before?

Thanks!