• Welcome To ShotTalk.com!

We are one of the oldest and largest Golf forums on the internet with golfers from around the world sharing tips, photos and planning golf outings.

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

Two newbie questions on GRIP & POSTURE

Jaff

Reaction score
Hi all... a relative newbie here with a keen interest in golf. I started about a month ago (driving range only so far) and have accumulated the following clubs which at the moment i'm quite comfortable with:

Skymax Ice IX-1 irons (PW, 8, 7)
Dunlop MXII (SW) - might change this for a Skymax SW
Alien Tour Shot Wedge (60deg)
Bronty Rustler multi-weight putter

I'm pretty happy with my progress so far but am still a little confused about some aspects of 'grip' and 'posture'. It seems that every article i read or (YouTube) video that i watch shows a different way of holding the club or addressing the ball. So not sure which way to turn.

-- LEFT THUMB: I'm currently gripping the club with my left thumb (i'm right handed) at the top, vertically aligned with the centre of the shaft, pointing down to the club face. I learnt this from a Mark Crossfield video at the Today's Golfer web site - "the thumb of your left hand pointing down towards the head of the club". But i know others advocate having the thumb slightly down the right side of the shaft, forming a 'V' that points up towards the chin/right shoulder. The 'thumb on top' seems to work so far - is this a widely used method? Are there any dissadvantages?

-- LEFT ARM: At address, i started out with the left arm near-straight. Then i read an article at Golf Today which mentioned that "the elbows should 'bow' out slightly at address". I switched to this as it felt more comfortable and doesn't seem to have had any detrimental affect. Again, is this an outdated approach?

Thanks for your time and any help you can give.