• Welcome To ShotTalk.com!

We are one of the oldest and largest Golf forums on the internet with golfers from around the world sharing tips, photos and planning golf outings.

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

Why do I play blades?

The irons you are hitting (the TM MBs) are not weak, they are normal. Unfortunately the GI and such are gimmicking to be longer.

Most "better player" irons are the same as yours and have the now standard lofts. Its the "better longer" clubs as advertised who are changin their lofts.

agrees, a 37 degree 7 iron is not that far out, maybe 1 degree, or 2 at a push, and if you believe that a 7 iron should be 33 then its not a 7 iron, its really a 6.

Interesting thread. I have been playing blades,on and off, for about 25 years, originally with Arnold Palmer "The Standard" MB's and most recently with Tommy Armour Silver Scot MB's. About 2 years ago, since I am 60 years old, I decided it was time to switch to CB's with regular graphite shafts. I honestly could not hit them straight and at the end of last summer switched back to my AP's with DG stiff shafts and immediately started getting GIR's again.

I have a really slow SS with a driver (average 95 mph) and should benefit from softer flexes, however, I hit my TA MB 8 iron 145, high and straight, and the 8 CB with regular graphite shafts 130:confused: and wrong (standard lofts on both clubs). Distance, aside, I would rather be short and straight with my irons.

My point is that MB heads are not as difficult to play with, and CB heads as forgiving as some would have you believe in real playing conditions (not driving ranges). Shafts, imo, are more important, so if you like the blade heads try some different shafts to get the ball flight you want.

agrees, a 37 degree 7 iron is not that far out, maybe 1 degree, or 2 at a push, and if you believe that a 7 iron should be 33 then its not a 7 iron, its really a 6.