• Welcome To ShotTalk.com!

We are one of the oldest and largest Golf forums on the internet with golfers from around the world sharing tips, photos and planning golf outings.

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

Buying Golf Shirts

N

northstar40601

I am new to golfing, live in Kentucky USA, have no golf shirts and want to buy several golf shirts, however my visits to pro shops, golf stores, sporting goods stores, and large department stores have left me not knowing what is the best shirts to buy. I want to buy only the highest quality (most expensive) shirts I can get. I will pay top dollar to get the best shirts.
I see names such as Ashworth, Greg Norman, Izod, Slazenger, Nike, Arnold Palmer, Adidas, in materials such as "Mercerized", "Double Mercerized", "2-ply 60's Mercerized Cotton", and "100% Cotton".
I read somewhere to buy only Mercerized shirts for golfing, but if that's true, why do I see so many non-mercerized ( 100% cotton) golf shirts in the stores by the top names such as Ashworth, Greg Norman, Izod, and others?
Do any of you have a preference for a certain material / brand ? And what about colors?
Also what are the best type of pants/slacks to use for golfing? It's hard to find "golfing slacks" in any stores. Does any particular color seem to work best? Thought I would buy the higher-priced Dockers and hope that works.

Thanks for any help from anyone.

Buying shirts isn't a science. If you like it, buy it.

However, the darker colous will be warmer, the lighter much cooler.

Mercerized cotton is cotton that has been subjected to an alkide solution that shrinks the cotton and makes it smoother. It also helps it take dyes better. So a double mercerized cotton has just been done twice, obviously.