• Welcome To ShotTalk.com!

We are one of the oldest and largest Golf forums on the internet with golfers from around the world sharing tips, photos and planning golf outings.

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

New Set Needed

MAT B

Reaction score
Hey people im new to this forum, im 19 years old and just wondering what clubs to purchase next, i have been told to get a set of Blades as my handicap is around 12, i have now had the same set of clubs for four years and feel i may be able to improve my game with a different type of club, im after a second hand pair as im a student at the mo and really cant afford a brand new set, can anyone point me in the right direction.

Also what is the difference with bladed clubs?

Thanks Matty

MAT B said:
Also what is the difference with bladed clubs?

Thanks Matty

Very basically, you get Blades and Cavity Backs.

From what I understand, CB's are more forgiving with a larger sweet spot. Blades are for better players, have a sweeter spot and make it easier - for those able to do so - to work the ball.

That's a quick and simple answer...i'm sure the others will be able to help more than I.

Cheers

KA

I would compromise. Get a set like mp 30's. They are forged for a soft feel and have very little offset so you can easily work the ball. The do have a small cavity so you get a little help on miss hits.

There are several clubs that fit this discription but I like the 30's best.

I'd have to agree with OB here.

But, that being said, you don't necessarily have to go forged. There are plenty of cast sets out there that are half the money of forged that will seal the deal. Something like an X16 from Callaway, some RAC's from Taylor Made or even some TA's from Cleveland would all be a great buy.

Be more concerned about the shaft and flex of the irons moreso than that of the make. And, always buy something you're comfortable standing over. Confidence means so much in golf, it's not even funny.