• Welcome To ShotTalk.com!

We are one of the oldest and largest Golf forums on the internet with golfers from around the world sharing tips, photos and planning golf outings.

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

Revisiting an old friend

Bravo

Reaction score
When I graduated from college, we played most of our golf at a local state park - Oak Mountain. This is an urban state park of about 10,000 acres that gets a lot of cyclists and hikers. Oak Mountain is a ridge that runs about 1000 feet above the valley floor. As the name implies, this course is run by the state government.

Over the past 20 years, the course was poorly maintained and it gradually got worse. I had not played it for at least 15 years until today.

Myself and two friends went out this morning. We had 1.5 inches of rain in the last 36 hours and it was foggy this morning. Weather radar showed a big blob of rain has just passed through and we decided to chance it anyway. It is about 25 minutes from my house.

The course had a makeover last year and reopened in January. The entire park is getting renovations and we looked forward to seeing what the place looked like.

We drive up and the pro shop is closed (under renovations). The golf carts are out in the parking lot - soaked and dirty. We pay at a temporary building and start to drive to the range. The cart path is just destroyed from all the heavy trucks and equipment that have been used in the renovation/construction.

This course is 6760 from the tips and we decided to play it back. The course is completely saturated with water.