• Welcome To ShotTalk.com!

We are one of the oldest and largest Golf forums on the internet with golfers from around the world sharing tips, photos and planning golf outings.

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

Your Golf History

TEA Time

Grumpy Gilmore
Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Everybody's got a story. I found this one typed up on my computer. I wrote it last year when I was really playing horribly and decided to "retire" from competitive golf... heh.

You guys have known me for only a couple of years at most, so I’ll start at the beginning.

1980–1988 - I started playing golf at a young enough age that my earliest memories involve a golf club. By age ten I was winning Jr golf tournaments and by 12 I was breaking 80. By age 14 I held a 1.4 handicap, won in multiple states, and lettered as a freshman - qualifying for state individually. Working at the course allowed me to develop my game whenever I wanted, which was good because we were poor and free golf was pretty much the only way I could ever play. I had planned on going to Arizona State (obviously on a scholarship :D ) and then going pro. Solid plan.

1988-1994 - Then life happened. Girls and skateboarding were sooo much more fun than golf. Getting drunk at lunch, getting laid at night, golf fell by the wayside. But my talent allowed me to still be competitive. Win-freakin-win! Then my grades slipped, I barely graduated, and college wasn’t an option anymore because my hopes for any scholarship money didn’t pan out. I got into a fight with my golf coach and didn’t even play my junior year.