• Welcome To ShotTalk.com!

We are one of the oldest and largest Golf forums on the internet with golfers from around the world sharing tips, photos and planning golf outings.

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

Clone clubs.

Laxly

Reaction score
Hi,

I am new to golf and new to this forum so I hope I've posted this thread in the correct place.

I was looking at buying some new clubs, but I read an article talking about "clone clubs", saying that apart from the name they are made by the same manufacturers and using the same technology. However I can find very few websites selling them, and those that I can seem to look amateurish at best.

So...

1. Are "clone clubs" any good?
2. Has anyone used them?
3. Is there any quality issues regarding them?

Thanks

Laxly

Ah....The Great Debate....

There are some good clones, and some bad ones. How do you tell the difference? Hit them both. I read an article recently that was talking about how most glub manufacturers now have their merchandise produced in China (China is the world's largest manufacturer of titanium products). The Nikes, Callaways, and Taylor Mades do all of the research and design that goes into the new clubs and then sends the model to their contractor in China for production.

According to the article, many of these designs (or molds) are quickly smuggled out the back door to another foundry where the knockoffs are produced. Will the copy be as good as the original? Maybe, maybe not. Some of this may be due to lack of production control or lack of final inspection. The basics of production are the same.

I have a knockoff set of Ping Eye2 irons that plays great (haven't used them in years). I'm currently playing a set of Adams irons that play better.