• Welcome To ShotTalk.com!

We are one of the oldest and largest Golf forums on the internet with golfers from around the world sharing tips, photos and planning golf outings.

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

Groove YOUR Swing?

chrisgaddy

Reaction score
I've been playing golf since March of 2005. I take lessons every 3 or 4 weeks, practice often, play every weekend, and play at least 5 days a week in the summer. I got my handicap down to a 9.25 this summer but it's nearing 10 again.

Just recently I've fought the following:
pushing my knee out in my backswing
turning my shoulders around
hitting at the ball
raising up
sliding my hips
picking the club up

As I thought of these problems I got to wondering how many more problems I'll have to overcome before my swing is more permanent. I realize it will never be permanent, just somewhat reliable.

So how long did it take you to groove your swing?

My new swing is about six weeks old, and it's getting to the point where it doesn't feel as awkward as it did at first, but my ballflight still needs straightening out. My old swing was a 'round the body one-plane deal, and it worked well enough to get me to about a 13 handicap. However, over last year, I started to hit more at the ball rather than through it, as well as digging a pool with my divot. As a result, I started to get awful tendonitis in my elbow and my left wrist got sore after about 15 holes or so and my handicap climbed back up to around a 15. This year, my pro and I are working on a more upright swing, with me swinging the club more along the target line. The biggest trick is for me to keep the clubface square at the top, whereas I have a tendency to close it, thus resulting in a hook. I anticipate several more weeks of swinging in front of a mirror and hitting at the range before things get worked out.