• Welcome To ShotTalk.com!

We are one of the oldest and largest Golf forums on the internet with golfers from around the world sharing tips, photos and planning golf outings.

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

I have to let off some steam

OmegaG5

Reaction score
Sorry... but I have to let off some steam.

I'm a novice.... been playing since April this year, haven't yet broken 100 (close once at 101, although I have played 9 for 45), and play off a 28 handicap. So today I get involved for the very first time in a (seniors) cup competition at our club. I don't expect to really get anywhere of course, but this is going to be a good experience, and who knows?

Players set off in fours, and then next to last, a group of three, and finally, me with the seniors captain as a twosome.

On the first (par 4), I hit a 6 and he takes 7. (encouraging)
2nd hole, we both take 6
3rd hole, we both take 6

4th, he takes a 6 and I screw things up. I hit off the tee with a long slice and can't find the ball. Back to the tee and hit another, in the rough, but OK. I get a good next shot but a lousy kick right into a pond. I end up with 10 strokes.

5th hole, a long uphill par 4 (SI 1) and he takes 5 and me 6.

6th... An interesting hole, slightly uphill for the first 250 yards, over a brow, and then downhill the rest of the way. The 150 yard marker, a small slab in the fairway is just over the brow). He goes first and hits a driver 240 yards, just near the brow of the hill. I get a creamer of a tee shot with my 3 wood and we see the ball take its first bounce just beyond the brow of the hill, and then over out of sight down the hill.... right in the centre of the fairway. Great.