• Welcome To ShotTalk.com!

We are one of the oldest and largest Golf forums on the internet with golfers from around the world sharing tips, photos and planning golf outings.

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

Need some advice on a new driver

LBrower134

Reaction score
So I am looking to get myself a new driver, and was interested in the Taylormade Burner line. I am a bit of a beginner in golf, having only played about a year and a half. I was wondering if there was much of a difference between the 2009 burner and the 2007 burner driver. Also, if there is another driver out there that you think would be a good one to try, I'm open to suggestions.

I figure I should also add that I have been trying to fix my slicing problem I have had while driving, if that makes a difference on driver choice.

Without seeing your swing, and only knowing you are fighting a slice, I'd suggest a Callaway Ft-i with a draw bias. Stupid easy to hit and can be found for cheap now-a-days.

You might want to invest in some lessons to cure that slice. The FT-I suggested before is an awesome driver, but if you wan to keep in the TaylorMade line, I would suggest to try the 07 Burner. It goes for $150 new and around $70 used which is quite a good investment. The 09 Burner in my opinion had nothing to introduce new to the "old" 07 Burner model, and aesthetically is it much more correct and less "conned".

You might want to invest in some lessons to cure that slice. The FT-I suggested before is an awesome driver, but if you wan to keep in the TaylorMade line, I would suggest to try the 07 Burner. It goes for $150 new and around $70 used which is quite a good investment. The 09 Burner in my opinion had nothing to introduce new to the "old" 07 Burner model, and aesthetically is it much more correct and less "conned".