• Welcome To ShotTalk.com!

We are one of the oldest and largest Golf forums on the internet with golfers from around the world sharing tips, photos and planning golf outings.

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

Wierd putting tip.

DaveE

The golfer fka ST Champ
Reaction score
I tried an odd approach to short putts last night when I was out playing alone.

The tip I had read suggested looking at the hole instead of the ball on short putts. I tried it first on a flat two footer and it went right in. Tried it again on a three footer, same result. Finally, I did it with a four foot downhill breaker and drilled it.

Not sure I'd have the confidence to use this in a real match but I'm gonna practice it some more to see if it keeps working.

Dave:

I have been using a modified version of this for several years on putts of about 7 feet or less...it works.

As you look down at the ball there are three things you have in your field of vision:

1) The putterhead
2) The ball
3) The hole (will be in the left side of your left eye).

Try to develop a "visual awareness" of all three of these objects in your field of vision.

Then, address your putt. Get your line the way you want it.

Then, concentrate on two of the three objects: the putterhead and the hole.

As you take your swing, the goal is to move the putterhead straight toward the hole. The ball is in the way and although you are aware the ball is there - your main focus is moving the putterhead toward the hole.

When I do this effectively _I putt better....

If my feel is off, I do this with long putts, and it works well to help me regroove. I have never used this with short putts. Maybe it keeps your eyes focused, so your head and body remain steady through the stroke? Dunno, D. Long as it's workin'.

Bravo: