• Welcome To ShotTalk.com!

We are one of the oldest and largest Golf forums on the internet with golfers from around the world sharing tips, photos and planning golf outings.

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

Club Shaft Length

noobgolfer

Reaction score
well guys im new to this forum, it seemed nice so i signed up. I have a bit of a problem....im 5'3 and 17 years old. I've been golfing for about 2 months, and I normally drive a golf ball about 240-260 with good control with my 10 year old callaway big bertha that has a shaft length if 43.75 i believe. The problem is the standard shaft lengths now-a-days! They are all 44"-45", and i dont want to cut them or anything because i dont know if it will lower my yardage:( When i hit with most of these newer drivers(45" shafts) I have to swing out sooo much and I only hit the ball about 220 yards. Im not sure what to do with these different results and am therefore....confused.I have a feeling though, that if i could cut the shaft on my driver about 2 inches or so, I could drive the ball further with better control, but at the same time, i see that as impossible simply because the shaft would be too short! Any suggestions or facts for a 5'3 male golfer like myself? Would cutting the shaft increase/decrease yardage, and/but improve conrtol? How much should i cut the shaft for my height without sacrificing distance? Any comments are much appreciated.

Hi Noob

Welcome aboard. I'm not sure cutting a shaft will increase yardage, but it should keep 'em straight. A shorter shaft will decrease your arc and theoretically shorten your distance. But hey, on the fairway is better than 20 yards ahead in the rough. How do your irons and fairway woods work out?