• Welcome To ShotTalk.com!

We are one of the oldest and largest Golf forums on the internet with golfers from around the world sharing tips, photos and planning golf outings.

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

measuring shot distance?

Steve Balderrama

Reaction score
Hi, Newbie here. Anyway, quick question. Whats the most accurate way of measuring distance on the practice field and the course? I'd like to be able to accurately gauge how far shots have gone, but of course the flags on driving ranges are pretty innaccurate depending on where you are teeing from. Thanks!

I have a laser range finder so when I am at the range I know the real distances to the flags. That is the only way to know real distances.

obagain said:
I have a laser range finder so when I am at the range I know the real distances to the flags. That is the only way to know real distances.

Do any of those work to measure to the ball, ie, if you are practicing short game shots?

If you have an object like a flag or bucket you can get accurate it the inch measurements. I use a bushnell but some of the cheaper ones work just as well.

obagain said:
If you have an object like a flag or bucket you can get accurate it the inch measurements. I use a bushnell but some of the cheaper ones work just as well.

Hi Ob, I've a Nikon 440 rangefinder +/- 1/2yard accuracy - but I gotta say I find it near enough impossible to tag the pin from any great distance - if you also bear in mind that most pins here are black/white and the black portion absorbs the white light radar it makes it twice as hard. I usually rangefind to trees/bunkers or backwards from the fairway to the tee box (usually the trash can) or the tee box plinth....

Dave Ireland said: